NQIT Studentships Announced

Posted on
NQIT is pleased to announce that we have 16 PhD studentships available in quantum research groups around the UK.

These EPSRC Doctoral Training Partnership (DTP) studentships provide funding for a 3-year PhD. Applications are open for all 16 right now and you will need to apply via the host university. Deadlines vary between each university.

Here is the full list of studentships, including a link to the relevant application website and the email address of the lead supervisor, whom you can contact for further information:

Hybrid Quantum-Classical DMFT simulations, Dieter Jaksch (University of Oxford)

Defect engineering in diamond for magnetic field mapping and gradiometry, Jason Smith & Martin Booth (University of Oxford)

Multi-zone ion trap for Q20:20 node, David Lucas (University of Oxford)

Architectures for near-future quantum machine learning and optimisation, Simon Benjamin (University of Oxford)

Quantum computing with photonic networks, Almut Beige (University of Leeds), with Axel Kuhn (University of Oxford) and Elham Kashefi (University of Edinburgh)

Building a node in a diamond quantum computer, Gavin Morley, Mark Newton and Animesh Datta (University of Warwick)

Coherent Absorption Ladder Quantum Memory, Josh Nunn (University of Bath)

Quantum networking of trapped-ion qubits, David Lucas and Andrew Steane (University of Oxford)

Advanced fibre-integrated single photon sources: frequency conversion meets multiplexing, Peter Mosley (University of Bath)

Developing an ion trap quantum co-processor, Winni Hensinger (University of Sussex)

Ultra-low loss optical switches for Ion trap entanglement, James Gates, Corin Gawith and Paul Gow (University of Southampton)

Diamond membrane devices for efficient coupling to vacancy centres, Michael Strain (University of Strathclyde)

Efficient quantum device tuning using machine learning, Edward Laird, Natalia Ares, Andrew Briggs, and Simon Benjamin (University of Oxford)

Demonstrating Quantum Speed up on the NQIT machine, Elham Kashefi (University of Edinburgh)

Microwave to optical conversion, Lapo Bogani, Edward Laird, Andrew Briggs, Martin Kiffner and Dieter Jaksch (University of Oxford)

Efficient Chip-Integrated Photon Counting Detectors, Ian Walmsley and Steven Kolthammer (University of Oxford)